About the Florida flag

The flag of the State of Florida consists of a red saltire (diagonal cross) on a white background, with the Seal of Florida superimposed on the center. The design was approved by a popular referendum in 1900. The current design has been in use since 1985, after the State Seal was graphically improved and officially sanctioned for use by State officials.

The term "Five Flags over Florida" usually refers to the five governments that have exerted sovereignty over all or part of Florida: the flags of Spain, France, Great Britain, the United States, and the Confederacy. At various times in its history, at least 16 different flags have been used in Florida or parts of Florida.

You may also be interested in