About the Curaçao flag

The Flag of Curaçao represents the Country of Curaçao as well as the island area within the Netherlands Antilles from 1984 until its dissolution in 2010. The flag was not flown for Curaçao and Dependencies for which the flag of the Netherlands was used.

The flag is a blue field with a horizontal yellow stripe slightly below the midline and two white, five-pointed stars in the canton. The blue symbolises the sea and sky (the bottom and top blue sections, respectively) divided by a yellow stroke representing the bright sun which bathes the island. The two stars represent Curaçao and Klein Curaçao, but also 'Love and Happiness'. The five points on each star symbolise the five continents from which Curaçao's people come.

According to Flags of the World, the horizontal stripe have ratio 5:1:2. The stars have diameters 1/6 and 2/9 of the flag height. The centre of the smaller one is 1/6 the flag height from the left and top edges, and the centre of the larger is 1/3 from the left and top edges. The blue is Pantone 280, and the yellow, Pantone 102.

The flag was designed in 1984 by Martin den Dulk. Curaçao had organized a small competition to choose the annual flag that will represent them. Martin den Dulk was one of the many participants but his interpretation of the flag won the judges over. He became first place and his flag became the flag of Curaçao.

After Aruba's adoption of its own flag (while still part of the Netherlands Antilles), Curaçao received approval for a flag in 1979. Two thousand designs were submitted to a special council; ten were shortlisted, and the council decided on 29 November 1982. With some modifications, the flag was adopted on 2 July 1984.

You may also be interested in