About the Free Papua Movement flag (Morning Star flag)

The Morning Star flag (Indonesian: Bintang Kejora) was a flag used in a supplemental fashion on Netherlands New Guinea (1949–1962) to the Flag of the Netherlands. It was first raised on 1 December 1961, and fell into disuse on 1 October 1962, when the territory came under administration of the United Nations Temporary Executive Authority (UNTEA).

Although the flag is commonly used today by the Free Papua Organization as a nationalist and pro-independence symbol, such an interpretation was disavowed by the Dutch authorities at its creation. Under Papua's Special Autonomy Law ratified in 2002, the flag may be raised in Papua so long as the flag of Indonesia is also raised and it is higher than the Morning Star flag. The flag consists of a red vertical band along the hoist side, with a white five-pointed star in the center.

After territorial elections in January 1961 a New Guinea Council consisting of 28 members were sworn into office by Governor Dr. P.J.Platteel on 1 April 1961 and the Council's inaugurations on 5 April 1961 were attended by Australia, Britain, France, the Netherlands, New Zealand and other Pacific Forum nations with exception of the United States. The Council appointed a National Committee to draft a Manifesto expressing the desire for independence, and to design a flag and anthem commensurate with this desire. The design of the flag is credited to Markus Wonggor Kaisiepo. The full New Guinea Council endorsed these actions on 30 October 1961 and the first Morning Star flag was presented to Governor Platteel on 31 October 1961.

The Dutch authorities gave West Papua this flag to use as their National Flag as well as their National anthem and coat of arms The official raising of the flag took place on 1 December 1961 on West Papua's Independence Day.