About the Marshall Islands flag

The flag of the Marshall Islands, an island nation in the Pacific, was adopted at the start of self-governance, May 1, 1979.

The Marshall Islands were part of the Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands administered by the United States, from which the Marshall Islands and Micronesia split. In common with other island nations in the region, this flag features the symbolic representation of the islands' place within the ocean. The rising diagonal band represents the equator, the star above representing this Northern Hemisphere archipelago. The white and orange portions of the band represent, respectively, the Ratak Chain ("sunrise") and the Ralik Chain ("sunset"), as well as symbolizing peace and courage. The star's 24 points represent the number of electoral districts, while the four elongated points represent the principal cultural centers of Majuro, Jaluit, Wotje, and Ebeye.

The flag was designed by Emlain Kabua, one of the first ladies of the republic.

You may also be interested in