About the Aragon flag

The current Coat of arms of Aragon was first documented in 1499. Its fourth quarter, the Coat of arms of the Crown of Aragon, features on the Coat of Arms of Spain, as well as the flags and heraldry of several territories in Spain and abroad which were ruled by the Crown of Aragon, such as Catalonia, the Balearic Islands and Languedoc-Roussillon. The flag of modern Aragon, adopted in 1983, has the arms over the Crown arms.